top of page
Featured Posts

Paint vs Prose

Imge of bare belly smeared with paint

Not that it's a competition but as a professional artist who has recently become a published author, I can't help but compare the creative processes that characterise the two modes of artistic expression i.e. painting and writing. What are the similarities and how do they

differ?

'Difficult pleasure’ is how renowned Australian painter, Brett Whiteley, described the creative process before dying of a heroin overdose in 1992. Making art can be exasperating, stimulating, challenging, joyful, confronting, exhilarating, soul destroying, nerve-wracking and utterly engrossing - all in the same day. Some mornings, I’ll pop into the studio with the intention of taking a quick peek at the painting I'd been working on the day before, only to find myself at four o’clock standing there, paint brush in hand, unwashed, unfed and wearing only my undies–belly bare and breasts streaked with paint. It's the same with writing. Dawn seamlessly slides into dusk and I'll look up from my laptop, my armpits a bit whiffy, my stomach growling and realise that I haven’t had a shower or anything to eat. For someone whose every waking moment, when not at a keyboard or covered in paint, revolves around food, how is this possible? Hungarian psychologist Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi would say that I'm in the 'flow', so absorbed in what I'm doing I'm unaware of my bodily needs or the passing of time.

Black and white image of a man sitting on a sand dune

For the most part, painting and writing are solitary pursuits. Unless they're dealing with a gallery director, an art courier or sales assistant at an art supply shop, artists generally spend their days, and often their nights, working alone in their studio. Other than the occasional and usually lively meeting with a literary agent, an editor or a publisher, writers tend to lock themselves in their bedroom or home office, trying to ignore their kids (if they have any) banging on the door.

The renowned abstract and minimalist painter Agnes Martin believed that when you empty your mind, you can see things when they come into it. When I paint, I paint intuitively and find, as did Agnes, that thinking gets in the way - short circuiting an otherwise untainted flow of creativity. Not so with writing. In writing my recently published memoir, Hippy Days, Arabian Nights, I let everything in. I had to remember, analyse, reflect, unpack and deconstruct; to drag up some pretty painful experiences - really go there and relive them - in graphic detail. Like the day we shot our sick donkey, when Bega schoolgirls Lauren and Nichole were murdered, my father’s suicide when I was 16 and that violent night in Italy.

Image of Charlotte Bronte

An artist knows when a painting is finished. Don't ask me how. They just do. But for every written word there's a veritable multiverse of alternatives. Until your publisher manages to wrangle your manuscript from your Gollum-like grip, you're a dog with a bone. Charlotte Brontë drove herself to distraction trying to decide between the name Miss Frost or Miss Snowe for the heroine in her literary masterpiece Villette; the names not that dissimilar yet each evoking a very different impression. Whether to use the word 'run' or 'race', 'dash' or 'dart', 'scoot' or 'scamper', 'hurry' or 'hasten' - that is the mind-frying question. American writer Kurt Vonnegut wrote 'every sentence must do one of two things—reveal character or advance the action'. Picasso claimed 'it took me four years to paint like Raphael, but a lifetime to paint like a child'. Need I say more!

Below is a reading from Hippy Days, Arabian Nights in which I paint in words a picture of an afternoon in the ancient city of Luxor.

Next stop on the Hippy Days, Arabian Nights Roadshow - my book launch in Sydney at Soho Galleries! Date: Saturday 3rd June, 5pm - 8pm. If you live in or near the city please join me for an evening of fun, art and book talk.

OR

Come along to my book event at NSW State Library. Date: Saturday 10 June, 2:00pm - 3:00pm. Katherine Boland in conversation with fellow author, performer and director Alisa Piper http://www.sl.nsw.gov.au/events/hippy-days-arabian-nights

Image of author Katherine Boland and the Hippy Days Arabian Nights: a memoir bookcover

Your intrepid little Aussie author,

Katherine Boland

Follow Katherine on Twitter @katherineboland

View her artwork at http://www.katherineboland.com

Find out more about Hippy Days, Arabian Nights at http://www.katherineboland-author.com

Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square

Katherine Boland

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
bottom of page